Add-on board debugging

Posted on September 8, 2014

0


Njay's test bench for the new add-on boards. Trying to control the power bridge (the one with the shiny large heat sinks) from the console (the one with the green screen) via the new I2C insulation board (in the middle).

Njay’s test bench for the new add-on boards. Trying to control the power bridge (top, with the shiny large heat sinks) from the console (bottom, with the green screen) via the new I2C insulation board (center, with yellow wire).

NJay: I found another goof-up of mine – I switched the SDA and SCL lines on the Master side. 🙂 But I had already tried switching them around with no luck. There must be something else. So, I assembled another circuit with less junk, and it works!! 🙂

A simpler version of the board, for debugging purposes.

A simpler version of the board, for debugging purposes.

NJay: On my next break I’ll try and find out if the problem is the circuit I designed or if I screwed up the chip, whether during soldering or when I dropped it (the board slipped from my fingers once)…  On this 2nd board I tried bending the chip’s pins down (with the chip upside down) and it worked, no problems. No more artistic wire sculptures. 😉

Vnevoa: bwahahaha!!…. I though I was the one who did that kind of butterfingers mess. 🙂

NJay: Usually it happens to me because I’m trying to hold it as little as possible so not to contaminate or deform it…

Vnevoa: Well, you’re on the right track now. Hang in there!

(to be continued…)Lisbon_MMF_logos_Banner_big

