The Soapbox PoC takes its first spins

Posted on November 11, 2009

5


Here it is, at long last. The Soapbox proof of concept takes to the road. Actually, to the parking lot. It’s a lot safer. 🙂

I promised video, didn’t I?

First of all, a simple systems check:

Tonight I tightened the transmission chains, they were falling off on tight curves. 🙂 Also adjusted the long board to center the mass a little bit more, the tail was way too heavy. And switched the sealed lead-acid batteries with some lead-gel batteries to increase power.

And after that, a few rides and cartwheels around the place:

Not bad, for an electric vehicle that is completely unbalanced and has power controllers that run away in unpredictable manners… 🙂

This thing is very much like riding a go-kart. I bet that I can get the same thrill at a quarter of the speed… 😉

