Trike assembled!

Posted on November 5, 2009

0


But not exactly functional… 🙂

The new brakes are assembled and tuned (as well as possible), the batteries are charged (almost), the tyres are full, and the curiosity is unbearable: will it work? there’s only one way to know: throw that switch on.

Ok, you can stop laughing now. Seriously, that’s enough. Seriously. Last warning.

It’s running in circles because one of the accelerators is producing a bad signal. It’s the one with a new Hall sensor we replaced, so it’s expected to need some tweaking.

I didn’t shoot it with a rider yet because the batteries are not supplying enough power to run the motors. That’s a problem under investigation. They should have enough power; I suspect the controllers are at the source of the mischief. At least when I take them out of the loop, the motors seem to behave with enough torque and speed.

The shiny new brakes work well enough, but my first attempts at sliding down a ramp while using only the brakes to establish direction reminded me why cars and any other vehicles with parallel wheels always have interconnected brakes: it’s nearly impossible to steer the thing by braking, we humans just don’t have the reaction speed to do it. 10 out of 10 times I ended up facing the slope; the center of mass is too far back away from the axle. Plus, the whole braking system is very cheap and unresponsive (but still reliable). Hmm… I bet I could steer it if I put in those Magura hydraulic brakes from my mountain bike… naaah, leave it alone. 😉

If you notice the previous pictures, the frame has changed a bit; I had to replace the side boards with longer ones to accommodate the support bar for the horseshoe brakes. Now the trike weighs around 50kg with the batteries on. Talk about a heavyweight!

But before I go on with crazy tests, there’s a fundamental component still missing: the seat. Without something to press my back against, it’s almost suicidal to ride this thing. Although I haven’t managed to get past nauseated so far. 🙂

Ok, that’s just to give you a hint of what’s going on. Still a lot of work ahead, so stay tuned.

